Connect with us


Six players are out as Australia announces major changes to its T20I squad midway through the India series.

T20I squad

Steve Smith and Adam Zampa have flown back to Australia from India ahead of the third Twenty20 International between the two teams in Guwahati. With three matches remaining in the series, Cricket Australia decided to recall the two-star players, while four more will return home on Wednesday. As part of workload management, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Josh Inglis, and Sean Abbott will all return home following the conclusion of the third T20I.

Australia has also announced two replacements for the series, with ‘wicket keeper-batter Josh Phillippe and big-hitter Ben McDermott joining the squad ahead of the third T20I in Guwahati.

Ben Dwarshuis of New South Wales and spinner Chris Green will join the squad in Raipur ahead of the fourth match.

Australia’s updated squad for the third T20I: Matthew Wade (c), Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, and Kane Richardson.

“One of the things we had in our planning coming into this series was to have a look at Steve (Smith) up top, and we’ve had a chance to do that now,” Australia’s stand-in head coach Andre Borovec said after the series’ second match.

“We’ve been delighted with the intent that he’s shown with the bat, (I) couldn’t fault it.”

Australia will play a total of ten T20 internationals before next year’s T20 World Cup in the United States and the Caribbean.

Australia T20 squad: Matthew Wade (c), Aaron Hardie, Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott (withdrawn), Tim David, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Chris Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (withdrawn), Glenn Maxwell (withdrawn), Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith (withdrawn), Marcus Stoinis (withdrawn), Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa (withdrawn)

India T20 squad: Suryakumar Yadav (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vc), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (last two matches only)

Play live matches on Kheloyar

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See