Connect with us


IPL 2024: After Hardik Pandya rejoins the Mumbai Indians, Shubman Gill will be the captain of Gujarat Titans

Indian premier league

Shubman Gill, India’s opening batter, has been named the new captain of Gujarat Titans in the Indian Premier League for the 2024 season. The decision was made after their regular captain and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya was traded to his old team, the Mumbai Indians, in an all-cash deal. Hardik ensured GT’s fairytale start in 2022, with the team lifting the coveted trophy, while they finished runners-up in their second season. Gill, on the other hand, was a key player for Gujarat in both seasons.

Gujarat Titans announced the appointment of Gill as their new captain for the season on X (formerly Twitter).

“Gill will lead a team that has an unparalleled combination of experience and youthful exuberance, which has been the hallmark of the Gujarat Titans,” the Gujarat Titans said in a statement.

Gill has 1373 runs in 33 innings at a 47.34 average, with three centuries and eight fifties. Last season, the opener scored 890 runs in 17 matches at an average of 59.33, including three centuries and four fifties, and was named Orange Cap winner.

The opener has been instrumental in GT’s meteoric rise since its IPL debut. Last season, he hit 129 runs in 60 balls against the Mumbai Indians, the most by an IPL batter in the playoffs.

“I am delighted and proud to take over as Captain of the Gujarat Titans, and I thank the franchise for putting their faith in me to lead such a fine team.” We’ve had two outstanding seasons, and I’m excited to lead the team with our exciting brand of cricket,” Gill said at the announcement.

After winning the Indian Premier League (IPL) in their inaugural season in 2022, GT advanced to the finals the following year, losing to the Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Gill also hit three centuries in the previous IPL. Only Virat Kohli of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Jos Buttler of the Rajasthan Royals (2022) had more in a single IPL season, with four each.

Watch live matches on Kheloyar

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See