Connect with us


18 players make up Hockey India’s men’s squad at the 2023 Asian Champions Trophy

Asian Champions Trophy 2023

The Asian Champions Trophy 2023, which will take place in Chennai’s Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium from August 3 to 12, will feature an 18-member men’s squad, which unveiled on Tuesday by Cricket India.

The 2023 Asian Games in Hangzhou will also serve as a practice event for the Asian Champions Trophy.

Harmanpreet Singh, the team’s star drag-flicker and defender, will remain in charge, and Hardik Singh, a dynamic midfielder, will serve as his assistant.

The designated goalkeepers are PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak, and the designated defenders are Jarmanpreet Singh, Sumit, Jugraj Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, and Amit Rohidas.

Hardik, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, and Nilakanta Sharma will be the midfield’s leaders, with Manpreet Singh reverting to the midfield after initially designated as a defender during the Pro League’s European phase.

The forward line made up of S Karthi, Mandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Sukhjeet Singh, and Akashdeep Singh. These forwards have the ability to score important goals, set up scoring opportunities, and put constant pressure on the opposition defense.

India will compete in the tournament’s Pool stage against Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Japan, and China.

Chief Coach Craig Fulton commented on the team selection, saying: “We have carefully chosen a squad that has the potential to go on and give a good account of themselves Hero Asian Champions Trophy Chennai 2023.”

“The team that chosen is a mix of youth and experience. The 100th Anniversary Spanish Hockey Federation-International Tournament, which begins tomorrow, and the Asian Champions Trophy Chennai 2023, which the team will play at home, are thrilling events for the team. The chosen players are thrilled about the chance and eager to play in front of their devoted home crowds, he continued.

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak

Defenders: Jarmanpreet Singh, Sumit, Jugraj Singh, Harmanpreet Singh (capt), Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas

Midfielders: Hardik Singh (vice-captain), Vivek Sagar Prasad, Manpreet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Shamsher Singh

Forwards: Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Sukhjeet Singh, S Karthi.

Watch Live Matches on Kheloyar

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See