Connect with us


Zim Afro T10: Harare Hurricanes Defeat Durban Qalandars For First Win Of Season

Harare Hurricanes vs Durban Qalandars

Harare Hurricanes vs Durban Qalandars: Regis Chakabva scored an unbroken 44 as the Harare Hurricanes defeated the Durban Qalandars at the Harare Sports Club on Sunday to become the first team to win the inaugural Zim Afro T10.

Chakabva put up an outstanding effort, assisting the Harare Hurricanes in earning their first tournament points.

When the Durban Qalandars batted first, the in-form Hazratullah Zazai was dismissed for 3 by Mohammad Nabi. But on the other end, Tim Seifert is on fire and delivering powerful hits, much to the delight of the stadium’s patrons who were basking in the Sunday heat.

Asif Ali and Seifert then put on a strong partnership after Nabi packed off Andre Fletcher for 2 after that. The two batted aggressively right away, putting together a 51-run partnership for the third wicket in 24 deliveries.

Although Ali did not last long and castled by Samit Patel for 18, Seifert had reached 50 and was in no mood to back down. The Qalandars reached 126/3 in their 10 overs thanks to an unbroken 43-run stand between Seifert and Nick Welch, who were the next pair to bat. Seifert achieved an undefeated score of 71.

In response, the Hurricanes struggled early on, losing the early wickets of Eoin Morgan (2) and Robin Uthappa (1) to Brad Evans and Mohammad Amir, respectively.

After that, Irfan Pathan, an Indian all-rounder, and Regis Chakabva teamed up, with the veteran taking charge of attacking the Qalandars.

Pathan’s time in the middle was brief, but he quickly put the Qalandars under duress by smashing Linde for a hat-trick of sixes and scoring 37 runs off of 14 balls. However, Pathan unable to continue and removed by Linde in the fifth over.

The Hurricanes were still in contention for their first victory of the tournament at this point, but Donovan Ferreira added a quickfire 16 before he too removed, even as Chakabva was holding out at the other end.

Nabi flagged for 19 in the final minutes, but Chakabva emerged as the Hurricanes’ game-winning player as he grabbed control and led his team to their first victory of the tournament. As the Hurricanes defeated them by five wickets, Chakabva remained undefeated on 44.

Watch live matches on Kheloyar

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See