Connect with us


Gujarat Giants will open the Women’s Premier League against Mumbai Indians

women's premier league

Following the end of the Women’s Premier League Auction in Mumbai, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) released the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 schedule. Five teams—Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz—spent a lot of money on the first edition to bring in some of the top players on the national and international circuits.

Smriti Mandhana of India was the highest purchase; she was sold to Royal Challengers Bangalore for an astounding INR 3.40 Crore. Harmanpreet Kaur, the captain of Team India, was traded to the Mumbai Indians for INR 1.80 crore, while all the other international and Indian players were selected for one of the five franchises.

Ashleigh Gardner of Australia and Natalie Sciver of England were the highest purchases among the overseas players and were sold to Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians for INR 3.20 Crore each. Shafali Verma, the captain of the India U19 team and winner of the ICC U19 T20 World Cup, was the top purchase and was sold to Delhi Capitals for INR 2 Crore.

The Women’s Premier League will host a total of 20 league games and 2 playoff games in its inaugural season, all of which will be played over the course of 23 days.

The Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians match will kick off the season on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium, according to a release from the BCCI.

The first doubleheader day of the WPL will take place on Sunday, March 5, 2023, at the Brabourne Stadium, CCI, featuring a match between Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore. At the DY Patil Stadium in the evening, UP Warriorz will face Gujarat Giants in their league debut.

The first match will begin at 3:30 PM IST and there will be 4 double headers in total. At 7:30 PM IST, the evening matches will kick off. The DY Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai will host a combined total of 11 matches apiece.

On March 21 at the Brabourne Stadium, CCI, UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals will meet in the league stage’s championship game.

On March 24, The Eliminator will be held at the DY Patil Stadium. On March 26, 2023, the Women’s Premier League Final will take place at the Brabourne Stadium.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See