Connect with us


ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Offcial Panel


A historic first in the sport, the match officials for the 2023 women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa will be all female.

The team of three match referees, 10 umpires, and officials from seven nations was unveiled by the ICC on Friday. GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa), and Michell Pereira are the match officials (Sri Lanka). Sue Redfern of England, Eloise Sheridan of Australia, Claire Polosak of Australia, Jacqueline Williams of the West Indies, Kim Cotton of New Zealand, Lauren Agenbag of South Africa, Anna Harris of England, Vrinda Rathi of India, N Janani of India, and Nimali Perera of India will serve as the on-field and TV umpires (Sri Lanka).

The governing body’s “strategic aim of enhancing the engagement and visibility of women in cricket,” according to an ICC statement, including selecting this group.

The panel will include four more female match officials than the nine at the current women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup, making it the most female umpires and match officials in a worldwide ICC competition.

Wasim Khan, the ICC’s general manager of cricket, stated, “Women’s cricket has been expanding significantly in recent years and as part of that, we have been establishing the routes to ensure more women have the chance to officiate at the highest level.” “This declaration reflects our intentions in this area and is just the beginning of our path toward equal opportunity for men and women across our sport.

“We are dedicated to keeping up our support for our female match officials and giving them chances to present their skills on a big platform. I wish them well in the competition.”

On February 10, the opening match of the eighth women’s T20 World Cup pits hosts South Africa against Sri Lanka. With Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and South Africa in Group A, the defending champions Australia are also present. England, India, Ireland, Pakistan, and the West Indies make up Group B. In each group, the top two teams advance to the semi-finals.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See